theForum

Travel chances?

https://forum.unlock.org.uk/Topic11101.aspx

By Dave Lister - 13 Feb 16 3:04 PM

Hi

I am nearly 6 months into my 3 year community order, what are the chances of my PO allowing me to travel abroad for holidays whilst on the supervisory period?

Thanks for your time
By Hola - 20 Jan 16 6:05 PM

Hi there
Obv I don't know what your crime was, but if you've no travel restrictions related to your CO then I don't think they can stop you - perhaps if they currently have you going in every week they could stifle it but maybe suggest phoning in ?

I'm no legal expert but I was on CO for 3 years and never had an issue travelling - went as far as Guatemala with no pushback. If I were you I'd get a script ready for your next session and ask him / her
- need a break
- time with your partner
- can come in just before anf just after etc etc

Hope that helps

Many thanks for the reply. I think I'm getting a bit confused with the terminology, I thought that as I had a contract with my PO that meant I was "on license"? But I'm sure I've since read somewhere that if you're "on license" it means that you've served a prison sentence and have been released? Is that correct?

/www.nacro.org.uk/resettlement-advice-service/support-for-individuals/travelling-abroad-and-immigration-to-the-uk/travelling-abroad-and-within-the-uk-while-on-licence/

hub.unlock.org.uk/knowledgebase/travelling-community-order/

Confused.com lol

A holiday would certainly help with my rehabilitation, a bit of soul medicine and sunshine and a chance to reflect and plan for the future. Thanks so much for your help again Hola.
By Hola - 20 Jan 16 6:05 PM

on licence is when you have been in prison and released to be supervised
you only got a community order which is different I think - Debbie please step in if I'm wrong ! but I think
I think you should be fine to travel ... ... ...
But wait for an expert to reply
By Deb S - 16 Sep 11 1:36 PM

Hi Dave