theForum

Where can I share my story?

https://forum.unlock.org.uk/Topic26316.aspx

By alexh07 - 11 Aug 19 5:00 PM

Hi, I just received a conviction and I'm looking for ideas of which organisations I can share my story with?

I am a recent engineering graduate with a masters degree and autism. I basically received a conviction for harassing someone online even though they had done the same to me. There were not any warnings and the CJS took advantage of my disability (poor social awareness) to secure the conviction. All of the evidence showing me being harassed by the complainer was ignored, and all of my evidence proving my innocence was also ignored. The total cost of the case to taxpayers was estimated at around £90k. I started work not long after graduation but this case forced me out of work. I already struggled with anxiety and autism when looking for employment but now that I have a criminal record (and an employment gap) it's even harder to find work

Despite working hard on my education and originally planning to contribute to the economy, the experience of being screwed over means my views have now changed and it is highly unlikely that I will ever pay income tax or my £30k student loan back to the taxpayer. I now claim benefits instead and have been working on a form of online trading (which I will not go into detail) which falls into a tax-free bracket. The whole case was biased, unfair and disproportionate to the impact on the economy

By JASB - 20 Apr 20 4:39 PM

alexh07 - 20 Apr 20 2:34 AM
Mr W - 19 Apr 20 6:13 PM

Thanks for sharing your story Alexh07, after reading through the whole story I can see there’s been a lot of frustration. Hopefully, now you can begin to put it all behind you.