theForum is run by the charity Unlock. We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions but we may intervene and take any action as we think necessary. Further details can be found in our terms of use. If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report-a-post button or email us at forum@unlock.org.uk.

New company owners want CRB checks

New company owners want CRB checks

Author
Christopher Stacey
Supreme Being
Supreme Being (38K reputation)Supreme Being (38K reputation)Supreme Being (38K reputation)Supreme Being (38K reputation)Supreme Being (38K reputation)Supreme Being (38K reputation)Supreme Being (38K reputation)Supreme Being (38K reputation)Supreme Being (38K reputation)

Group: Forum Members
robf said...
I'm a coach driver. My employer is aware of my convictions (no prison but banned from working with children for life) and have always been happy with my work - they give me stuff that means I don't have sole access to kids (I don't do school runs for example).

The company has been taken over and the new owners insist all drivers have approval from the local council - which involves a CRB check - which I obviously won't be granted and now they're saying they'll have to let me go.

Seems a bit unfair. My day to day job has nothing to do with kids so can they force me to have a CRB?

ta

Rob - if the position you have isn't eligible for a DBS check, you should check out our detailed guide on the DBS (see front-page of main site). If the company already knows about your conviction, you should be able to openly question them about their eligibility, and if they still don't budge, consent to the check and then raise a query directly with the DBS (all this is explained in the guide we've just done!)

Need Unlocks advice? Visit our self-help information site or contact our helpline
Anonymous
Anonymous