theForum

Is privately renting while unspent possible?

https://forum.unlock.org.uk/Topic33998.aspx

By Mr W - 23 Jun 23 2:07 PM

I'm thinking of moving to a city, eg London or Manchester.
I'm unspent because of a SHPO, I get no financial help from govt/DWP etc, I have some money available if needed upfront.
Is it possible? Or do landlords run a mile with unspent convictions because of insurance? Even if I get a place, will gettin a job be equally as difficult and it's all going to be a waste of money?
I have zero knowledge of how this works, I've heard landlords do DBS checks now?! So treat me as if I know nothing.
Thanks in advance.
By AB2014 - 22 Aug 23 9:58 AM

JASB - 19 Aug 23 1:26 PM
Mr W - 12 Aug 23 2:53 PM
Yup, so that tells you that I think they're *so bad*, I'm willing to take that chance. Plus, people on here don't seem to be having the problems I have with overbearing police effectively keeping me isolated.
The StopItNow lady the other day also suggested a complaint but only after I'm free of them. That's extra motivation to make the move a success.
My legal rep has stated his 'concern' in black and white in a letter which I'll give them when they show up next.

Hi

I stayed in one location for a few years on my release; then I moved.

In my opinion, in the same manner as you are concerned with a "new police area practices", they will have the same concerns about you; it is true. 
In my opinion this is because their is a lack of "trust " on the data held centrally. They know the practices of their own area may be suspect so why trust an other area lol

Until recently I have rented and never had to disclose. To be honest I would be more concerned about the rising cost of rent.
Else get a motorhome / caravan and book a weekly meeting to register. They would get to know you very quickly and possible help with overall.