theForum is run by the charity Unlock. We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions but we may intervene and take any action as we think necessary. Further details can be found in our terms of use. If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report-a-post button or email us at forum@unlock.org.uk.

Struggling to get private housing

Struggling to get private housing

Author
Alan Watts
Supreme Being
Supreme Being (8.2K reputation)Supreme Being (8.2K reputation)Supreme Being (8.2K reputation)Supreme Being (8.2K reputation)Supreme Being (8.2K reputation)Supreme Being (8.2K reputation)Supreme Being (8.2K reputation)Supreme Being (8.2K reputation)Supreme Being (8.2K reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Well thanks to the great system for giving me a criminal record for 5 years for offending someone on the internet (who annoyed me first) it has spread from my career to my accommodation

I graduated with a masters degree in engineering and after working for 2 years my court case happened and I have never worked a day since. There are no engineering jobs in the area I live in so I am claiming benefits. I just completed my CS but my plan to move away from the area to begin a new start is being held back by my criminal record

I basically have 2 options
Remain with my parents and probably end up commiting another offence due to the way I am treated
Take one of the roughest 1 bedroom scheme social housing flats I have been offered and probably get into bother or in with the wrong crowd there

I guess I will just have to keep trying until someone accepts me

Mr W
Mr W
Supreme Being
Supreme Being (37K reputation)Supreme Being (37K reputation)Supreme Being (37K reputation)Supreme Being (37K reputation)Supreme Being (37K reputation)Supreme Being (37K reputation)Supreme Being (37K reputation)Supreme Being (37K reputation)Supreme Being (37K reputation)

alexh07 - 9 Jan 20 12:28 AM