theForum is run by the charity Unlock. We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions but we may intervene and take any action as we think necessary. Further details can be found in our terms of use. If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report-a-post button or email us at forum@unlock.org.uk.

New and looking for information on driving instructing.

New and looking for information on driving instructing.

Author
TartanLass
Supreme Being
Supreme Being (1.5K reputation)Supreme Being (1.5K reputation)Supreme Being (1.5K reputation)Supreme Being (1.5K reputation)Supreme Being (1.5K reputation)Supreme Being (1.5K reputation)Supreme Being (1.5K reputation)Supreme Being (1.5K reputation)Supreme Being (1.5K reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Hi, I’ve joined to find out if anyone with a previous conviction has ever became a driving instructor. I currently work as a dental nurse and have done for many years, however I had to disclose my conviction with my employer when the PVG check was introduced to dentistry. Now due the the PVG I’m finding it very difficult to find a new job, hoping for a career change but not sure what I can do. Have recently considered driving instructing but don’t want to pay for an expensive course to then discover I wouldn’t be accepted by the driving agency due to my past. My conviction will always show up on an enhanced disclosure as it’s an assault charge from 2002 which I recurved 240hrs community service. It’s the only time i was ever in trouble with the police but it has held me back a lot and I’m at the stage I feel I’m trapped in the same job for life. Any advice or similar situation stories would be appreciated!
Debbie Sadler
Debbie Sadler
Supreme Being